MTNA Foundation

WMTA supports the MTNA Foundation.  All information about the Foundation can be found at the following link:

Follow this link for more information:

To quote the MTNA website, “When you make a contribution to the MTNA Foundation Fund, you are helping us work for a more musical tomorrow through programs that nurture the creation, performance, study and teaching of music.  The Foundation Fund is the repository for all funds from the former MTNA Foundation that was integrated into MTNA on July 1, 2003. It is the fund that receives all tax-deductible contributions to MTNA, and is held and maintained separately from MTNA funds. Since the establishment of the MTNA Foundation in 1989, many thousands of dollars have been provided in grants and awards to students, gifted composers, outstanding teachers and performers and to local associations.”

In Wisconsin, we hold a silent auction at the state conference each year in order to raise funds to be sent to MTNA.  When we have a Foundation Fellow, all monies raised are used to fund the Fellow, which is a cost of $1000.  Fellows can be nominated by any individual or local association.  If WMTA monies are used, the Executive Board needs to vote on the nominee(s).  Voting is usually done at the June board meetings so nominations should be made to the state president or Foundation chair in the spring.

MTNA Foundation Fellows from Wisconsin:

2019 to Present Fellows

2022 – will be announced at the conference 
2021 chair- Catherine Walby 

Fellows Prior to 2015

Carol Winborne, 2003

James Norden, 2005

Joyce Grill, 2006

Carmen Shaw, 2007

Teresa Weber, 2008

Laura Swenson, 2011

Gail Heywood, 2012

Carol Klose, 2014

Joan Davies, 2015

Chair:  Shannon Whaples, NCTM Foundation Chair